An Inspector Calls · AQA · For Pupils · literature

An Inspector Calls quotes

Here are some quotes for An Inspector Calls

Seven stage directions

  1. Pink and intimate … Bright and harder
  2. Heavily comfortable but not cosy and homelike
  3. He creates at once an impression of massiveness, solidity and purposefulness
  4. Cutting through massively
  5. Now Mrs Birling. Enters, briskly and self-confidently
  6. Birling: (looking at them all triumphantly) [after Gerald suggests that they might not all have been involved with the same girl.
  7. They stare guiltily and dumbfounded

Eight on exploitation (of women, of position etc.)

  1. If you don’t come down sharply on these people they’d soon be asking the earth (Birling)
  2. Better to ask for the earth than to take it (Inspector’s response)
  3. These girls aren’t cheap labour – they’re people (Sheila)
  4. I broke it off definitely (Gerald)
  5. She’d lived very economically on what I’d allowed her (Gerald)
  6. I’m not defending him, but you must understand that a lot of young men – (Birling – about to say it’s okay for men to have affairs)
  7. I used my influence to have it (help for Eva) refused – Mrs Birling
  8. Inspector to Eric: you used her … as if she were an animal, a thing, not a person

Eleven from Birling

  1. Lower costs and higher prices
  2. Feels you might have done better for yourself socially (to Gerald – Birling’s inferiority complex!)
  3. A man has to make his own way
  4. I can’t accept any responsibility
  5. We were having a nice little family celebration … a nasty mess you’ve made of it now (to the Inspector)
  6. The famous younger generation who know it all
  7. When this comes out at the inquest, it isn’t going to do us much good
  8. Give me a list of those accounts. I’ve got to cover this up as soon as I can
  9. Look Inspector, I’d give thousands
  10. I was almost certain for a knighthood
  11. But the whole thing’s different now … you can see that can’t you?

Nine from the Inspector

  1. She wasn’t pretty when I saw her today
  2. Don’t stammer and yammer at me man, I’m losing all patience with you people
  3. We all have to share our guilt
  4. We often do on the young ones – they’re more impressionable
  5. Public men … have responsibilities as well as privileges
  6. We are members of one body. We are responsible for each other.
  7. Each of you helped to kill her
  8. Fire and blood and anguish
  9. Sheila: he never seemed like an ordinary police inspector

Eight from Eric

  1. Why shouldn’t they try for higher wages
  2. She was pretty and a good sport
  3. (Sheila) He’s been steadily drinking for the last two years
  4. I was in a state when a chap turns easily nasty
  5. You’re not the kind of father a chap could go to when he is in trouble
  6. You killed them both – damn you
  7. You’re beginning to pretend that nothing’s really happened
  8. I agree with Sheila. It frightens me too.

Nine from Sheila

  1. I can’t help thinking about this girl … and I’d been so happy tonight
  2. I hate to think how much he knows that we don’t know yet
  3. Why you fool he knows
  4. You mustn’t try and build up a wall
  5. You were the wonderful fairy prince. You must have adored it, Gerald.
  6. You and I aren’t the same people who sat down to dinner here (to Gerald)
  7. I suppose we’re all nice people now
  8. You don’t seem to have learnt anything
  9. It frightens me the way you talk

Seven on women

  1. Mrs B – I think Sheila and I had better go to the drawing room and leave you men
  2. Birling: ‘clothes mean something quite different to a woman’
  3. Sheila: she was pretty and looked as if she could take care of herself
  4. Inspector to Gerald: you think women ought to be protected against unpleasant and disturbing things?
  5. Gerald (and Sheila): She was pretty – soft brown hair and big dark eyes
  6. Your daughter isn’t living on the moon – she’s here in Brumley too (Inspector to Birling)
  7. Sheila, take your mother along to the drawing room (Mr B when Eric tells his story)

Nine on foreshadowing/irony (you should know about Birling’s war/Titanic speech)

  1. Sheila to Gerald: I expect you’ve done things you’re ashamed of
  2. Except for all last summer, when you never came near me
  3. Gerald: you seem to be a nice well behaved family
  4. Mrs Birling to the Inspector: I don’t think we can help you much
  5. Mr B – you don’t know what some of these boys get up to nowadays
  6. Mrs B – we’ve done a great deal of useful work in helping deserving cases
  7. Mrs B – Go and look for the father of the child – it’s his responsibility
  8. Mrs B – you’re quite wrong to suppose that I will regret what I did
  9. Mrs B – he should be made an example of

Eight from Mrs Birling

  1. You seem to have made a big impression on this child
  2. Girls of that class
  3. That – I consider – is a trifle impertinent, Inspector
  4. It would be much better if Sheila didn’t listen to this story at all
  5. She only had herself to blame
  6. I’ve done nothing wrong and you know it
  7. She was claiming elaborate fine feelings … that were simply abusrd
  8. As if a girl of that sort would ever refuse money

Thirteen on Eva Smith/Daisy Renton

  1. Birling: Good looking girl – country bred
  2. Birling: She had a lot to say – far too much
  3. Inspector: Few friends, lonely desperate, half-starved
  4. Insp: She enjoyed being among pretty clothes
  5. She was a very pretty girl with big dark eyes (Sheila)
  6. Gerald: She looked young and fresh and charming and altogether out of place down there
  7. She told me she had a job in one of the works here … said something about a shop too (surely they’re the same girl?)
  8. She was young and pretty and warm-hearted
  9. Eric – There was some woman who wanted her to go there. I never quite understood about that (Eva as a prostitute)
  10. Eric – She didn’t want me to marry her. Said I didn’t love her…
  11. Eric: She refused to take any more (money)
  12. Mrs B: There couldn’t be any question of marrying (the father). It would be wrong for them both
  13. Gerald: She was – very gallant – about it

Eight from Gerald

  1. We’re respectable citizens and not criminals
  2. Not if it was just after the holidays. They ‘d be all broke – if I know them (Gerald’s superior view of working classes)
  3. It’s bound to be pleasant and disturbing (patronising Sheila)
  4. I hate those hard eyed, dough-faced women
  5. I became at once the most important person in her life
  6. You know it wasn’t disgusting
  7. Everything’s alright now Sheila
  8. Mrs B: Gerald, you’ve argued this very cleverly, and I’m most grateful
2 thoughts on “An Inspector Calls quotes

Leave a Reply

